You’re Too Lazy

Standard

I suffer from SAD. I can’t just use that as an excuse, not in my house or at school.
I lack the will to do many things. I can barely bring myself to get out of bed, especially in the winter months. I usually have no problem around spring or summer. What people don’t understand is how SAD is real, and that it is a form of depression. It’s seasonal, but it is still life affecting.
I don’t feel like knitting. And knitting is a favorite hobby of mine. I don’t feel like hanging out with some of my oldest friends. I’m not just some moody teenager.
I am, along with two other students I am friends with, constantly called lazy and a procrastinator. If I didn’t do it, it’s not because I didn’t want to. It’s because I was mentally incapable.
People say to try harder, and that I’m not trying hard enough, yet they don’t see the argument my mom and I get into when she’s trying to get me out of bed in the morning. They don’t see the struggle of me trying to finish my homework before nine o’clock so I can try and sleep without taking too long to get out of bed in the morning. They don’t understand how much effort it takes to focus in class and feel happy when all I feel is sad.
Where do you get off on calling me lazy when I put forth three times more effort just to wake up and survive rather than do my work, because the grade seems to count more than saying “I woke up, and I’m living another day.”

Leave a Reply

