Ignorance Is Bliss

Standard

I don’t like America.

After living in

Europe for about 12 of 15 years of my life, I’ve been a bystander of America. I’ve seen great things, and after many things I’ve seen here, I couldn’t be a conservative. I tried to, but I knew I was lying to myself . As I’ve grown politically aware, I’ve become short tempered. I can even start to  cry by events worldwide,  because there is no reason for inequality, hatred, and people who don’t care . I care. 

Just earlier today, I got into an argument with my mom. She is religious, but leans left on the political spectrum. My mom saw on the news about a news anchor who came out. My mom said “She’s a pretty woman, she didn’t have to choose to be gay.” And then I lost my temper. It struck me deep, as a year and a half ago, I questioned my sexuality. I’m still not for sure. She also once said that my gay best friend was only 15, and was too young to know what he wanted. I don’t know what I want, and I didn’t choose to question myself. I didnt choose to have SAD or my current unresolved back pain. You didn’t choose your allergic reaction to certain foods, did you? Who are you to say that I am too young to know what I want. I want peace and equality, but am I too young to want that?

Sometimes,  I wonder if life would be better as a clueless conservative. But, when I sit and think about it, I would prefer to cry while watching the news than to saying “no” to anthing that goes against “religious morals”.

Ignorance is bliss, but I want another kind of bliss: The kind that is helping others and improving this fucked up world we live in.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

