“Why do you loo…

Quote

“Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.”
Matthew 7:3-5

I am a liberal Christian. 

I strongly dislike extremists. But, this weekend I was surrounded by several conservatives. These are the logical, non extremist, accepting conservatives. These are the people I don’t mind being around. The reason is because they are accepting.

Our speaker gave us this verse, and I realized that I am a hypocrite. I have blamed extremists and have ostracized the same people who I felt were  ostracizing me. In all truth, only a small majority of people are those extreme  non accepting conservatives. After being in a room full of people of opposing political views, I realized they aren’t as bad as our media makes them seem. We are just as opinionated as Fox News is toward liberals. We make the mistake of thinking we are so much better than them, but we are all the same. We judge conservatives as if they are all the extremist conservatives who are often reported about on the news. But, the logical conservative, the ones who truly follow the Holy Bible, aren’t as bad as society makes them seem. I have actually befriended many. And even with our opposing views, we still try to see everyone’s side of the story. 

What makes a true conservative is only tradition. Traditional values. While I am a progressive, I can see why they aren’t as adept to change. But now, many more conservatives are becoming more liberal as they see that some,  not all, but some conservative values aren’t biblical values.

Leave a Reply

